Graduate National Student Speech Language and Hearing Association University of Florida Chapter

To find out more about GNSSLHA go to their website here.

The University of Florida Graduate National Student Speech Language and Hearing is an organization affiliated locally with the student government and nationally with the American Speech and Hearing Association.


Graduate NSSLHA at the University of Florida was developed to fulfill the roles and responsibilities of the national organization in the Gainesville community. At the graduate level the students are working in partnership with undergraduate students and professors to discuss issues in the field and promote education and practice. This chapter is focused on reaching out to the community with projects to inform students, professionals and families of ongoing topics of interest in the field. During the fall semester we hold a Trans disciplinary Symposium to advocate the team approach of practice within our field collaborating with other fields including occupational therapy, physical therapy, developmental pediatrics, neurology and more. Along with education, the graduate organization is involved with mentoring undergraduate and first year graduate students in the field of communicative disorders as they progress towards their ultimate goal of becoming a speech language pathologist.


All Speech Language Pathology Graduate students at the University of Florida are encouraged to join GNSSLHA.


If you are a first year graduate student you should first join NSSLHA at the national level through ASHA which then enables you to join the University of Florida Chapter. At the new student orientation, the present cabinet of GNSSLHA will discuss the program and take your information at that time..

Current Officers

Academic Advisor
Dr. Emily Plowman


Zouheir Kabbara


Vice President of Professional Development
Soraya Sayegh


Vice President of Service
Lauren Reichart


Alexandra Quantz


Sarah Davis


Event Coordinator
Carly Gurick


Social Media Coordinator
Addie Ruckman


Design Coordinators
Carson Fisher
Maddie Travers