We appreciate your financial support of the Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. Your gifts can go to funding student travel to meetings, undergraduate and graduate scholarships, a lecture series, laboratory enhancements, and other initiatives. To learn more about establishing gifts in kind and bequests, please contact our College’s Director of Development,  PO Box 100185, Gainesville, FL 32610. They will help direct your donation to the appropriate mission of the department.


The Edna L. Povey scholarship has been awarded continuously since the 1990’s to undergraduate students, usually seniors, in the Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. This scholarship, which recognizes exemplary academic performance, is awarded at the nomination of the department’s faculty. Here is a partial list of award recipients:

2019 Povey Award: Cara Duncan, Julia Eckert, Samantha Espinal

2018 Povey Award: Casey Netuno

2017 Povey Award: Alexis K. Cunio

2016 Povey Award Winner: Lena R. Wedeen

2015 Povey Award: Jillian Roberts

2014 Povey Award: Kaitlyn Johnston

2010 Povey Award: Lisa D’Oyley

2009 Povey Award: Brian Orr

2008 Povey Award: Amanda Napolitano

2007 Povey Award: Kyle L. Fahsholtz

2006 Povey Award: Brieann Yimoyines

The Thomas B. Abbott scholarship is has been awarded continuously since the 1990’s. It is awarded annually by faculty nomination, typically to one MA student and one AuD student, in recognition of academic excellence, professionalism, scholarship, and interpersonal skills. Like Dr. Abbott was himself, the Abbott scholars are individuals who demonstrate high levels of professional integrity, intellect, effectiveness, and empathy in all aspects of education and service delivery. Here is a list of recent recipients:

2019 Abbott Awardee: Sabrina Eugene

2018 Abbott Awardees:

Audiology: Connor Brown

Speech-Language Pathology: Heather Nakahara

2017 Abbott Awardees:

Audiology: Mitch F. Aqulina

Speech-Language Pathology: Sara N. Kesneck

2016 Abbott Awardees:

Audiology: Francisco Ross

Speech-Language Pathology: Seth Dornisch

2015 Abbott Awardees:

Audiology: Peggy Warner

Speech-Language Pathology: Indya Arumugam

The F. Joseph Kemker Award is awarded annually to a second-year AuD student in recognition of outstanding clinical achievement.  This scholarship honors Dr. Kemker, the former chief of audiology for our department, and is given in celebration of his unrelenting commitment to the highest standards of patient-centered audiologic care. Here is a list of recent recipients:

2018 Kemker Award: Liz Purdy

2017 Kemker Award: John L. Massey

2016 Kemker Award: Allison Curran

2015 Kemker Award: Jennifer Aranda-Cordero


Past Scholarship Recipients: What are they doing now?

Ilene Goldman was the very first recipient of the Povey Scholarship in 1984. She currently lives in Virginia. Ilene went on to medical school and is now working as an
Emergency Medicine Physician at a local hospital. She is married with 2 children
and active in the local community.

Sharon Dobbs was the 1985 recipient. She received her Master’s degree at the University of South Florida and after
graduation worked part-time as a contract therapist while raising a family with her husband. She moved to Atlanta, Georgia
where she stills lives and works today as a speech therapist in the school systems.

Paula Smith (Stickel) was the 1987 recipient. Through the years she has worked off and on in outpatient, home-health,
and private practice settings. Paula returned to Florida in 1996 to live in the Orlando area. She is currently working in
a Long Term Care facility in Winter Garden, Florida. She mentions what a privilege it was to receive this scholarship.
It certainly was a wonderful provision to help defray university expenses and
provided her the opportunity to earn a degree that has served her well over
the years.

Allison Jacobs-Levine was the 1991 recipient. After graduating from the University of Florida, Allison received a full scholarship to the University
of Memphis where she received her Master’s degree. Allison began her career in the school systems in Atlanta, Georgia and then went on to work at a nursing
home in Florida. After that she was granted the first full-time speech therapy position at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital where she developed the program
for 8 and a half years. She appeared on the Today Show with one of her patients. She now works at EBS Healthcare at an elementary school for hearing impaired
children. She is married with one child and mentions how the professors at the University of Florida were excellent teachers and role models.

The 1999 recipient was Stephanie Charnam. Stephanie is living in Tampa with her husband and two
children. She works with a preschool-aged children with a variety of diagnoses but mostly autism.

Stephanie Hayden was the 2002 recipient. After graduating and attending another institution for a while she decided to take a break from
school to get married and raise 2 wonderful boys. She still feels inspired by our field and the education she received at the University of Florida.

Jennifer Rodriguez was the 2004 recipient. She received her Master’s at Temple University where she engaged in research and worked on publications. She is now in living
in Miami, FL working at Miami Children’s Hospital where she enjoys the diverse population.

Brian Orr graduated with his MA in Speech Pathology April 2012 and completed an externship at 7 Rivers Hospital in Crystal River.  In the fall of 2016 he entered our PhD program.

Kristie Lewandowski graduated from the MA program in 2010 and works locally as a speech-language pathologist.